CANBERRA BRIDGE CLUB INC ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday, 5 October 2023, 5.30 pm

MINUTES

Tim Mather, President of CBC, opened the meeting at 5.30 pm.

1. ATTENDANCE

Jenny Bergin, Barbara Bialowas, Lisa Bradley, Roger Brake, John Brockwell, Zara Chowdhury, Pam Crichton, Tamara Cutcliffe, Nicole Finn, Steve Geddes, Michele Grant, Peter Grant, John Hempenstall, David Hoffman, Julia Hoffman, John Kelly, Liam Minogue, Tim Mather, Rick Nehmy, Roy Nixon, Ian Robinson, Alison Russell-French, Chris Tough, Mary Tough, Jodi Tutty, Niek Van Vucht, David Wawn, Jennifer Yeats,

2. ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF PROXY VOTES

Tim acknowledged the proxy appointment received from Deb Milner, appointing Mary Tough.

3. APOLOGIES

Simon Grant, Anne Fleming, Andrew Kettle, Pamela McKittrick, Deb Milner

4. CONFIRMATION OF THE MINUTES OF THE 2022 AGM

Motion: That the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of 5 October 2022 be accepted as a true record of that meeting.

Moved: Roger Brake Seconded: Alison Russell-French CARRIED

5. MATTERS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES OF THE 2022 AGM

Tim reported that there were no matters arising from Minutes of the 2022 AGM.

6. REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT

Tim presented his report:

- This year the Committee was elected to transition the Club into a post-Covid world. Thank you to the previous Committee for maintaining the Club under very trying circumstances.
- Each member of the current Committee was thanked individually for their dedication and hard work in their respective roles.

- Thank you to the invisible army of member volunteers who carry out a huge amount of work behind the scenes in the clubrooms.
- Thank you to all the directors, dealers, teachers, coordinators and office managers for their tireless service.
- New training days for members, youth and women have been introduced.
- Improvements have been made to: the gardens; playing tablecloths; downstairs kitchen dishwasher; office printer; the Club website which is undergoing redevelopment; and computer systems.

Motion: That the President's report be accepted.

Moved: Pam Crichton Seconded: Rick Nehmy CARRIED

7. TREASURER'S REPORT AND STATEMENT OF ACCOUNTS

The Treasurer, Jennifer Yeats, presented her report and the Statement of Accounts for 2022-23:

- Income for the year was up on the previous year but also expenses.
 Overall the Club made a loss but this is not significant because of some accounting anomalies.
- Table money, lessons and member subscriptions are the major source of revenue. So far this financial year table numbers are about 15% up on last year.
- Room rental is up significantly because the clubrooms are being used by regular tenants and now frequently for ABF events and Will Jenner-O'Shea lessons.
- Thank you to our regular sponsors for their ongoing support: The Grange;
 Double Shot; TBIB; Battery World; Pacific FM; Ord Minnett; and Travel Associates.
- Major expenditure in 2022-23 included wages, maintenance, garden improvements and a new photocopier.

Motion: That the Financial Statements of the Canberra Bridge Club Inc, as tabled, be adopted.

Moved: Jennifer Yeats Seconded: Jodi Tutty CARRIED

8. AUDITOR'S REPORT

The Auditor's report on the Accounts for 2022-23 was tabled.

Motion: That Nikki George of National Capital Accounting be appointed the Auditor for the Canberra Bridge Club Inc for 2023-2024.

Moved: Jennifer Yeats Seconded: Rick Nehmy CARRIED

9. REPORT OF THE TOURNAMENT SECRETARY

The Tournament Secretary, David Wawn, presented his report:

- Table numbers are increasing and it is hoped this trend will continue.
- The 2024 calendar has been finalised and will be sent to members shortly.
 A survey was sent to members seeking feedback on night time events and results have been factored into planning.
- Competition night will be moved from Thursday to Tuesday in 2024 as a result of the survey.
- Thank you to: Bruce Crossman for all his work as Tournament Secretary for the period to March this year; Jodi Tutty for stepping into the role until June; and all the directors for their ongoing hard work.

Motion: That the Tournament Secretary's report be accepted.

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Niek Van Vucht CARRIED

10.1 JOINING FEE

Motion: That the 2023-2024 joining fee to the Canberra Bridge Club Inc be \$10 (includes GST) except for concession and distance members who will pay \$5 (includes GST) and that there will be no joining fee for anyone under 26 years.

Moved: Pam Crichton Seconded: Jennifer Yeats CARRIED

10.2 ANNUAL SUBSCRIPTION

Motion: That the 2024 annual subscription to the Canberra Bridge Club Inc be \$80 per annum (includes GST) except for:

- (i) Concession members, i.e.:
 - disability support or age pensioners; and
- (ii) Distance members, i.e.:
 - persons who reside permanently more than 80 kilometres from the Canberra General Post Office; and
- (iii) at the discretion of the Committee, other persons experiencing hardship;
 - who will pay \$40 per annum (includes GST); and
- (iv) Persons who join after 30 June 2024 and before 1 October 2024, who, if paying the full rate, will pay \$40 and, if paying the concession rate, will pay \$30; and
- (v) Persons who join after 30 September 2024, who will pay the full relevant annual subscription but whose membership will be valid until

31 December 2025.

Persons joining as non-home Club members will be entitled to an additional deduction representing the affiliation fees paid to the ABF and BFACT.

Persons under the age of 26 years at 1 January 2024 will receive free membership.

Moved: Ian Robinson Seconded: Alison Russell-French CARRIED

11. ELECTION OF OFFICE BEARERS & COMMITTEE MEMBERS

The Secretary, Michele Grant, was Returning Officer. Michele announced the results of the election of office bearers and Committee members:

- The candidates for the positions of President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Secretary and Tournament Secretary were elected unopposed;
- There were six nominations for the remaining eight Committee Member positions. A further nomination was received from Barbara Bialowas at the meeting. The seven candidates were elected unopposed.

The following Committee was therefore elected:

President: Tim Mather
Vice-President: Mary Tough
Treasurer: Jennifer Yeats
Secretary: Liam Minogue
Tournament Secretary: David Wawn

Committee Members: Jenny Bergin, Barbara Bialowas,

John Brockwell, Bruce Chapman, Nicole Finn, Ian Robinson, Alison

Russell-French.

12. OTHER BUSINESS - DEVELOPMENT OF CLUB PREMISES

Tim brought to the meeting's attention general plans to renovate the clubrooms given the increasing costs of maintenance of the ageing building. He reported that over the next few weeks the Committee will be addressing every session of bridge to request ideas on improvements to the architecture, facilities and ambience of the Club to make it more attractive to visit and use as a venue for social activities. Responses will be collated and considered by the Committee at its November meeting and then it was planned to present these to the membership at a special general meeting in December.

The meeting closed at 6:17 pm.