# Canberra Bridge Club Committee Meeting Meeting Minutes 29 October 2024, 5:00 PM

MEETING OPEN AND ATTENDANC	1
	2
MEETING OPE	
ATTENDANO	
ATTENDANC	
APOLOGIE	
PURPOSE OF MEETIN	2
	2
NEXT MEETIN	
	2
SUB-COMMITTEE CHAIR	
	2
FINANCE, CONTRACT & EMPLOYMEN	
HOUS	
11003	
PROMOTIONAL & SOCIA	
FRUGATIO	
EDUCATIO	
GOVERNANCE & ETHIC	
TOURNAMEN	
OTHER SUB-COMMITTEE	
CHANGES TO BANK SIGNATORIE	5
	3
DIRECTOR IDENTIFICATION NUMBE	6
	3
ACTION ITEM	7
	3
NEXT MEETING AND MEETING CLOS	8
	4
NEXT MEETIN	

8.2	MEETING CLOSE
1	

#### 1 MEETING OPEN AND ATTENDANCE

#### 1.1 MEETING OPEN

Mary Tough opened the meeting at 18:30.

## 1.2 ATTENDANCE

Mary Tough (President), Alison Russell-French (Vice President), Jenny Bergin (Treasurer), Liam Minogue (Secretary), John Brockwell (Tournament Secretary), Ian Robinson, Barbara Bialowas, Malcolm Carter, Stephen Fischer, Vanessa Brown.

Jennifer Yeats (outgoing treasurer).

#### 1.3 APOLOGIES

NIL

## 2 PURPOSE OF MEETING

This is the first meeting of the new CBC Committee, formed at the 2024 AGM on 29 October 2024. This meeting will:

- (a) set a time for a full CBC Committee Meeting;
- (b) appoint provisional chairs of the Club's various Sub-Committees; and
- (c) authorise changes to the signatories of the CBC Bank Accounts.

#### 3 NEXT MEETING

The next CBC Committee meeting will be held Thursday 14 November at 17:00.

#### 4 SUB-COMMITTEE CHAIRS

The following Sub-Committee Chairs were appointed, subject to the acceptance of those who were not present at the meeting:

## 4.2 FINANCE, CONTRACT & EMPLOYMENT

**MOTION:** That Jenny Bergin be appointed chair of the Finance, Contract & Employment

Sub-Committee

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Alison Russell-French

CARRIED.

## 4.3 HOUSE

MOTION: That Nick Vonthehoff be appointed chair of the House Sub-Committee

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Alison Russell-French

CARRIED.

### 4.4 PROMOTIONAL & SOCIAL

MOTION: That Barbara Bialowas be appointed chair of the Promotion & Social Sub-

Committee

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Alison Russell-French

**CARRIED.** 

#### 4.5 EDUCATION

MOTION: That Malcolm Carter be appointed chair of the Education Sub-Committee

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Alison Russell-French

CARRIED.

#### 4.6 GOVERNANCE & ETHICS

MOTION: That Stephen Fischer be appointed chair of the Governance & Ethics Sub-

Committee

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Alison Russell-French

CARRIED.

#### 4.7 TOURNAMENT

MOTION: That John Brockwell be appointed chair of the Tournament Sub-Committee

Moved: Mary Tough Seconded: Alison Russell-French

**CARRIED.** 

# 4.8 OTHER SUB-COMMITTEES

Other Sub-Committees will be considered at the next CBC Committee Meeting including the Barry Turner Fund Sub-Committee and the Youth Committee.

1 - Liam to circulate the Barry Turner Fund Policy

2 - Barry Turner Fund & Youth Sub-Committee Chairs to be appointed at the next CBC Committee Meeting

#### 5 CHANGES TO BANK SIGNATORIES

MOTION: That Jenny Bergin be ADDED as a signatory to the CBC Bank Accounts

Moved: Alison Russell-French Seconded: Malcolm Carter

CARRIED.

MOTION: That Jennifer Yeats be REMOVED as a signatory to the CBC Bank Accounts

Moved: Alison Russell-French Seconded: Malcolm Carter

CARRIED.

Other signatories (Liam Minogue, Mary Tough) will remain unchanged.

#### 6 DIRECTOR IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

Members of this Committee are required to have a Director Identification Number.

- 3 Liam to circulate Director Identification Number government links to the new Committee
- 4 All members without a Director Identification Number must apply for one before the next CBC Committee Meeting 14 November 2024.

#### 7 ACTION ITEMS

1 - Liam to circulate the Barry Turner Fund Policy3
2 - Barry Turner Fund & Youth Sub-Committee Chairs to be appointed at the next CBC
Committee Meeting



3 - Liam to circulate Director Identification Number government links to the new	
Committee4 - All members without a Director Identificaiton Number must apply for one	
before the next CBC Committee Meeting 14 November 2024	

# 8 NEXT MEETING AND MEETING CLOSE

# 8.1 NEXT MEETING

The next meeting will be held Thursday 14 November 2024 at 17:00

# 8.2 MEETING CLOSE

Mary Tough closed the meeting at 18:50.